top of page

About the 8.7 Network

SDG 8.7

The Commonwealth 8.7 Network is at its core a group of 60+ local civil society organisations from across the globe who share a common vision to eradicate contemporary forms of slavery and human trafficking.

Our network is named after the UN Sustainable Development Goal (SDG) Target 8.7 which seeks to end modern slavery, including forced labour, human trafficking, and child labour, by 2030.

We were founded by the Commonwealth Human Rights Initiative in 2019. That same year, our network was awarded the Commonwealth Secretary-General’s Innovation for Sustainable Development Award.

Our mission is to raise awareness, strengthen skills, share good practice, provide support to survivors of modern slavery, and advocate for change to laws and policies in support of all victims and survivors of modern slavery and human trafficking.

Commonwealth 8.7 Network on World Day Against Trafficking in Persons

30 July 2020 - For World Day Against Trafficking in Persons, the Commonwealth 8.7 Network issued a statement, which calls on governments to take urgent action against human trafficking. It serves as a reminder of the growing issue of trafficking in persons and the need for a coordinated and global response to combat this human rights violation. The statement also reflects the aspirations of the Network to work collectively on this issue in the year ahead.

Countries of the Commonwealth

Antigua and Barbuda. Australia. Bangladesh. Barbados. Belize. Botswana. Brunei. Cameroon. Canada. Dominica. Kingdom of eSwatini (Swaziland). Fiji. The Gambia. Ghana. Grenada. Guyana. India. Jamaica. Kenya. Kiribati. Lesotho. Malawi. Maldives. Malaysia. Malta. Mauritius. Mozambique. Namibia. Nauru. New Zealand. Nigeria. Pakistan. Papua.  New Guinea. Republic of Cyprus. Rwanda. Samoa. Seychelles. Sierra Leone. Singapore. Solomon Islands. South Africa. Sri Lanka. St Christopher and Nevis. St. Lucia. St Vincent and the Grenadines. The Bahamas. Tonga. Trinidad and Tobago. Tuvalu. Uganda. United Kingdom. United Republic of Tanzania. Vanuatu. Zambia. Zimbabwe.

bottom of page